Ready, Set, Summer!

Fresh Summer Makeup

This is a treat for all you Northern Hemisphere-ers out there (and let’s face it, there’s a lot more of you guys than there is us Southerners).  Even though it is winter here, I live in the subtropics so it’s pretty much summer here all year round.  Temperatures during the day stay around the low 20s C (70 F) most winter days.  So I figured I am pretty well qualified to talk on the subject of getting ready for summer ^_^

madison_reed_summer_checklist_x2_v2I thought I would do a fresh summer makeup look for you guys, and share some of my favourite summer products with you.  During the summer I like to keep my makeup light on the face and eyes, and go for a bright pop of colour on the lips and cheeks.  I have kept the eyes neutral and created a light golden shimmery look.  For the cheeks  and lips I have chosen a bright orange-red pop of colour.  Don’t be afraid of bright reddish blushes – used with a light hand they give you a gorgeous sun-kissed look without the sun damage.

I’ve used my favourite summer foundation, Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid foundation.  If you are young and have good skin tone you can get away with just a BB cream or a mineral powder if you like, but I need a little extra coverage these days 😉  I love that this foundation gives good medium coverage, but still feels light and comfortable and makes my skin glow and look healthy.

Fresh Summer Makeup with a Pop of Coral Red

Products used:

  • Neutrogena Healthy Skin Liquid foundation
  • Napoleon The One Concealer
  • Mac Studio Finish Concealer
  • Revlon Photoready cream blush in Coral Reef
  • Mac eyeshadows in Phloof!, All That Glitters, Woodwinked (Mystery on brows)
  • Maybelline Colossal Volume Express Cat Eyes waterproof mascara
  • Revlon Super Lustrous lipstick in Ravish Me Red

If you’re like me and naturally fair but want to avoid tanning and the related health and skin-damaging drawbacks, fake tanning goes a long way towards making you feel confident and summer ready.  I tend to tan easily on my face, arms and upper body, but remain ghost-white on the legs.  Not a great look, so I always fake tan my legs in the summer.  My favourite one at the moment is the Le Tan Fast Tan Foaming Mousse in the colour Bronze.  I apply it with a tanning mitt and it gives perfect even coverage and the colour is very natural.  I do 1 coat a day for 2 days in a row to achieve my desired coverage – I like a natural looking tan.

5634_1

Hair – If I’m colouring, which I don’t always do, I like to go a little lighter than I was in winter.  Nothing drastic, but just a fresh pick-me-up.  Madison Reed has a great color advisor tool which is very useful if you’re having trouble deciding what to go for.  I just had a play on there and loved the suggestions it threw out for me.

For styling I usually like to keep it out of the way.  I have REALLY long hair and it can be like wearing a blanket.  If the weather is not too hot I will curl it using a 3/4 inch barrel iron and finish with anti-humidity frizz fighting product.  On warmer days I will do a messy side braid or loose bun with some pretty little accessories.  I love wearing fake flowers in my hair in the summertime.

Summer Hairstyle Ideas

Some of my favourite hairstyles for summer – sourced from Pinterest

I was going to do a little lookbook of summer fashion for you guys, but halfway through writing this post my city began to experience the coldest snap in living memory.  It is currently below freezing and I really wasn’t keen on parading around in a pair of shorts in this weather.  I’m sure you will forgive me 😛

Hope you are experiencing better weather than I am right now!  Thanks for reading xx

Signature

* This post is not sponsored.  I am not receiving monetary or material compensation for mentions.

2 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Summer!

I'd love to hear your thoughts; please leave me a comment :)

