Mini Maybelline Haul and First Impressions

I have a couple of Autumn-hued berry beauties for you today.  I’ve been seeing these colours pop up on my Instagram feed quite a bit lately, and I haven’t got either of these products in my stash yet so I wanted to give them a try.  The products are the MasterGlaze blush stick in the shade Make a Mauve and ColorDrama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil in the shade Berry Much. I haven’t had a chance to wear them yet so I’ve done my first impressions based on swatches.

ColorDrama Intense Velvet Lip Pencil – Berry Much

First Impressions:  A highly pigmented, satin-matte finish that seems as if it will have good staying power.  Goes on the lips smoothly without seeming dry at all.  A truly stunning deep plum-berry shade that is perfect for that intense bold autumn lip without being too vampy.  Can be blended out to a sheer tint, and leaves a nice stain on the lips.

This pencil is marketed as a lip colour in its own right rather than to be worn under lipstick, and I have to say it does seem to do the job well.  The colour is just gorgeous and the pigmentation and formula is spot on.  I will be interested to see how well it wears throughout an entire day of wear.

I’m actually really proud of myself for getting hold of this colour.  As it’s been featured a lot it has obviously been very popular, because it’s been hard to find in the shops.  I went into my local Priceline hoping that I would be lucky but alas, the shelf was empty.  That is until I crouched down and saw the very last one on its side at the very back and bottom of the display.  Score!  I think some poor soul had hidden it there hoping to come back for it but I benefited!  I popped up holding it aloft exclaiming “YES!” like some crazy person.  I got a few weird looks but hey, I think my fellow makeup lovers can relate 🙂

MasterGlaze Blush Stick – Make a Mauve

First Impressions:  A pretty light plum-mauve shade that comes off a lot less scary than it looks in the tube.  A beautiful purple-based blush colour; I’m very happy to have this in my collection as it’s hard for me to find colours like this that I really like.  Just the right amount of pigmentation for a cream blush product.  Came out of the tube smoothly and silkily without being ‘wet’ or greasy, blended beautifully on the skin.

The thing that actually decided me on this product was an Instagram pic posted by MaybellineAU of a makeup artist using this particular shade as a cream eyeshadow.  It looked absolutely stunning and I’m really looking forward to trying it out as an eyeshadow as well as a blush.

Once I’ve tried this properly and if I like the staying power and how it wears, I will probably pick up more colours of this one.  Cream blushes are my favourite format of blush but it can be hard to find a formula that blends nicely.  So far this seems to hit the nail on the head so I’m very pleased.

So that’s it for my mini haul!  Have you tried these products recently?  What did you think?  Leave me a comment!

Signature

*Not a sponsored post.  All opinions and purchases are my own.

2 thoughts on “Mini Maybelline Haul and First Impressions

I'd love to hear your thoughts; please leave me a comment :)

