Friday Favourite – Neutrogena MoistureSmooth Color Stick in Rich Raisin

Neutrogena MoistureSmooth (1)This product is one of the chubby lip crayon variety.  The main selling point for me was the colour.  I actually ordered this before Christmas last year, well before I knew that Marsala was going to be 2015’s colour of the year.  Points to me for foresight!  This lippy is the perfect Marsala wine colour.  It is so beautiful I can hardly describe it.  It’s almost a neutral colour, you can wear it with nearly everything and it looks stunning.  I think it would suit a wide variety of skin tones.  I’m very fair and it didn’t look OTT on me, but it’s dark enough to also be a gorgeous ‘My Lips But Better’ colour on deeper skin tones. Neutrogena MoistureSmooth (2)

Aside from the beautiful colour, the texture and finish of these pencils is amazing.  They go on smoothly and feel rich and hydrating on the lips, without being sticky or slippery.  I didn’t feel like it was going to smear all over the place the second after I applied it.  It was more pigmented than I expected for such a hydrating product.  It is just the right balance between pigmented and glossy for me.  The scent is also absolutely to die for.  I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what it reminded me of, but it smells like some kind of deliciously spicy dessert.

I was pleasantly surprised by the staying power; it wore really well for a glossy balm-type product.  I only had to apply it once after eating lunch, and even then I still had a subtle stain left on my lips.

I’ve been after this colour for ages, every since I saw one of my favourite YouTubers rave on about it and I saw how fabulous it looked on her.  Sadly for us Aussies, Neutrogena makeup isn’t available in Australia (sniff, why do bad things happen to good people?) so I had to wait until my annual U.S. makeup order before I could get my hands on it.  It is the perfect autumn colour.  Even though the weather in Brisbane is not even approaching autumnal yet (subtropics.  Gotta love it right?) yesterday we had a morning thunderstorm and it was pretty gloomy for a while so I took that as an excuse to wear my new lip colour.  I was so happy with my decision ^_^Neutrogena MoistureSmooth (3)

What do you think of this colour? I’d love to get more of these.  If you have any colour recommendations let me know in the comments below.

Signature

I'd love to hear your thoughts; please leave me a comment :)

