Makeup Monday – St. Patrick’s Day

Makeup Monday – St. Patrick’s Day

Makeup Inspiration Monday #3 - St. Patrick's Day (1)

This week’s Emerald Isle inspired look comes just in time for St. Patrick’s Day.  If you’re searching for a look to wear this Tuesday the 27th of March, this just might be the inspiration you need 🙂

I used this as an opportunity to try something a little different, a little out there, bright and colourful.  I’m usually a neutral eyes person so this was a lot of fun for me.  Obviously it is quite distinctive so if you want to tone it down, you could easily blend the darker colours into the crease to create a softer and more wearable look.  I really love this sharp defined shape for a change though.

Makeup Inspiration Monday #3 - St. Patrick's Day (4)

All the products I used are listed below.  I used my 120 eye shadow palette for all the shadows; this is the best sort of palette if you want a lot of different colours without spending a lot of money.  They’re not the best quality and have a fair bit of fallout, but they are very pigmented and just fine if you want something for costume makeup or special occasions.

I started by using an eye primer, then adding a white jumbo eye pencil over the top of that on the inner two thirds of the lid.  I really wanted the green to pop and the white base really helps achieve that.

Next I took a bright medium green and used a liner brush to draw the outline of the exaggerated cat eye, then filled that in and swept the same colour across the outer two thirds of the lid, leaving the inner third bare.  Then I took a tiny dab of black shadow and started working it into the outer corner of the cat eye shape to make a deep green colour, and carried that into the crease, keeping everything sharp and not blending too much on the outside.  Then I took a frosty pale green and applied it to the inner third of the lid and the tear duct, taking care to blend it into the medium green shade.  I used the same colour pattern along the lower lashline.

Makeup Inspiration Monday #3 - St. Patrick's Day (3)

I used the white pencil to line my waterline, a black kohl to tightline the inside of top lashline, and a black felt tip liquid liner for the top of the lashline.  I didn’t extend it along the cat eye to make a winged liner but you easily could if you like that look.  I added some mascara and some wispy false lashes to add extra drama.  I rarely wear false lashes so I it’s a lot of fun when I do 🙂

If you try this look my advice is to take it slow when tracing the original shape and try to keep it symmetrical.  Take your time blending the colours together on the lid but don’t blend the outer edge in order to keep everything sharp.  Have fun with this!  It’s meant to be a laugh and a fun day so try something different and daring tomorrow.

Makeup Inspiration Monday #3 - St. Patrick's Day (2)

Full list of products used:

 

Face:

1)   Illamasqua cream foundation – (Not sure of the shade as it has rubbed off)

2)   MAC Pro Longwear concealer – NW15 (under eyes)

3)   Napoleon Perdis The One concealer (under eyes)

4)   MAC Studiofinish concealer – NW20 (under eyes)

5)   Revlon Colourstay concealer- 02 Light (blemishes)

6)   MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural – Light

7)   MAC powder blush – Cubic

8)   Nyx blush – Taupe (for contour)

Brows:

9)   MAC eyeshadow – Mystery

10) E.l.f. Wet Gloss Lash & Brow clear mascara

Eyes:

11) E.l.f sheer eyelid primer

12) L.A. Colors Jumbo eye pencil – Sea Shells

13) 120 colour eyeshadow palette (there are many different brands, mine is from eBay)

14) Rimmel Scandaleyes Thick and Thin eyeliner

15) Rimmel Soft Kohl kajal eyeliner pencil – black

16) Maybelline Full and Soft waterproof mascara

17) Ardell Fashion Lashes – 124 black

18) Revlon latex-free lash glue

Lips:

19) MAC lipstick – Plink! (Not pictured)

* Not sponsored post.  All opinions and purchases are my own.

I'd love to hear your thoughts; please leave me a comment :)

