Vampy Lip with M•A•C Vino and Hang-up

Vampy Lip with M•A•C Vino and Hang-up

I have a confession to make.  I may be running a teeny-tiny bit behind on my Blogging 101 assignments.  I have a very cranky 6 month old, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.  In fact he’s sitting on my lap belting me with a plastic tambourine at this very moment.  I am trying my best to catch up, please don’t judge me.

Yesterday I visited an interesting blog, where a beautiful lady extolled the virtues of a lip liner that I just happened to have purchased myself just last week.  You can view the original post here, it’s worth a read.   We had a little discussion about how we like to use it, so I thought I would share my favourite combination so far.

The liner is Vino lip pencil from MAC.  I bought this and MAC Cremesheen lipstick Hang-up to go together, blind off the website, just hoping they would match.  They arrived in the mail last week and, oh my goodness, these two were just made for each other.

M•A•C Vino and Hang-up

They are nearly identical shades, which is perfect for me because I love not having to be too precise when reapplying the lipstick when I’m out and about.  The lip pencil makes the lipstick last so much longer, and deepens it up to a very dark, vampy, berry shade.  The lipstick alone is stunning, but the liner takes it to the next level.

First I gave my lips a good scrub with a lip scrub.  I try to do this for any dark lip colour to avoid any flaky bits hanging off my lips.  So not attractive.  My favourite scrub is Lush’s Mint Julips – it tastes like sweet mint and it’s all edible so you can lick it right off.  Win-win.  Then I used my Burt’s Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Açaí Berry, which has to be the best smelling lip balm I have ever used in my life.  Leave the lip balm while you do the rest of your makeup, then wipe off just before applying the lip products.

Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub & Burt's Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Açaí Berry

Lush Mint Julips Lip Scrub & Burt’s Bees Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Açaí Berry

Next I lined my lips with the Vino lip pencil, then filled them in completely.  This prevents the lipstick in the centre wearing off and leaving you with a dark ring around the outside.  Again, so not attractive.  Also if you want that dark, vampy lip, the lip pencil as a base really darkens up the whole look.  Then I just applied the lipstick over the top, straight from the bullet.  Because the colours match so well, you don’t have to be too precise; they blend together seamlessly.  I applied mine in about 3 seconds flat which is why it looks a bit messy 🙂

Has anyone else tried this combo and loved it?  What are your other favourite combos using Vino?  Leave me a comment!Signature

7 thoughts on “Vampy Lip with M•A•C Vino and Hang-up

  1. I haven’t tried Vino or Hang-up, but they look really good together. The lip scrub on the other hand is one of my favourite products, I have the Bubblegum one and it works wonders for dry lips combined with a good lip balm.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts; please leave me a comment :)

